University Grants Commission (UGC)


The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India  was established in November 1956 as a statutory body of the Government of India through an Act of Parliament for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education in India. The head office of the UGC is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg in New Delhi, with two additional bureaus operating from Feroz Shah Road & South Campus of University of Delhi. Present Chairman of UGC is Prof. Ved Prakash. 


The UGC has the unique distinction of being the only grant giving agency in the country which has been vested with two responsibilities: that of providing funds and that of coordination, determination and maintenance of standards in institutions of higher education, which includes: 

  • Promoting and coordinating university education.
  • Determining and maintaining standards of teaching, examination and research in universities.
  • Framing regulations on minimum standards of education.
  • Monitoring developments in the field of collegiate and university education; disbursing grants to the universities and colleges.
  • Serving as a vital link between the Union and state governments and institutions of higher learning.
  • Advising the Central and State governments on the measures necessary for improvement of university education.

Regional Offices

Pursuance to the National Policy on Education (1986), the UGC de-centralised its working by opening seven regional offices catering to the states under it. The objectives of setting up these offices were to bring about de-centralisation and to ensure that a large number of colleges through out the country will have better opportunities of response to their needs and problems by way of easier access.  The regional centres at Pune, Hyderabad, Delhi, Kolkata, Bhopal, Guwahati and Bangalore.

 Inter University Centres (IUC)

 The UGC started setting up autonomous centres from 1984, the following are the inter-university centres established by UGC so far:

  • Inter University Accelerator Centre (1984)
  • Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astro-Physics (1988)
  • UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research (1989)
  • Consortium for Educational Communication (1993)
  • Information and Library Network Centre, INFLIBNET (1996)
  • National Assessment and Accreditation Council (1994)
  • Inter University Centre for International Studies

National Facilities 

The UGC has established 4 National Facilities Centre in the selected universities as per details given below:-

  • Western Regional Instrumentation Centre, Mumbai, Mumbai University
  • M.S.T. Radar Facilities, Sri Venkateshwar University, Tirupati
  • Inter University Centre for Humanities and Social Sciences IUCHSS, Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla
  • Crystal Growth Centre, Anna University, Madras

Click here to UGC website